The Bloc Party frontman discusses his new solo record, ‘Fatherland’

Bloc Party frontman, Kele Okereke has announced his new solo album Fatherland, due for release on October 6th via BMG Music. Fatherland is the most mature and musically adventurous chapter of Kele’s ever-evolving career, and includes duets with Olly Alexander (Years & Years) and Corinne Bailey Rae.

Embracing a much more organic — even classic — sonic palette, the album straddles delicate folk (“Streets Been Talking”), sumptuous soul (“Do U Right”), and insidious, dub reggae-meets-Weimar cabaret (“You Keep On Whispering”). It also features the breath-taking “Yemaya,” released earlier this year, and was produced by Bloc Party bassist Justin Harris in Portland, Oregon with expert musicians largely drawn from Portland’s underground music scene.

A new song from the album, Streets Been Talking” is available to stream and download now.

Kele’s lyrics are, as ever, perceptive and nakedly personal: a map of his consciousness as he squared up to the prospect of fatherhood — his daughter Savannah was born in December 2016.

Kele Okereke:

“I was listening a lot to Elliott Smith’s ‘Either/Or’, ‘Pink Moon’ by Nick Drake, ‘Blue’ by Joni Mitchell, and the Al Green album, ‘Still in Love With You’. Writing these songs and expressing these words and feelings, it’s something that’s vital for me. I’m recognizing I’m entering into a different part of my life.

“Streets Been Talking” was one of the first tracks I wrote for the album. It’s a bittersweet ode to romance and the passing of time.”

I’m fully conscious that this record is probably going to serve as a document for Savannah of the relationship between her fathers and who we were before she came into our lives. It feels important for her to see that we don’t have all the answers but we’re trying.”

Fatherland tracklist:
1. Overture
2. Streets Been Talking
3. You Keep On Whispering His Name
4. Capers
5. Grounds For Resentment (feat. Olly Alexander)
6. Yemaya
7. Do U Right
8. Versions Of Us (feat. Corinne Bailey Rae)
9. Portrait
10. Road To Ibadan
11. Savannah
12. The New Year Party
13. Royal Reign

For more information visit:

If you enjoyed, please recommend by clicking the heart below
In collaboration with/produced by Jeff Gorra

Follow Artist Waves on: Facebook, Twitter & Medium

~ follow Jeff Gorra | twitter @JeffGorra |